Florida Reading Association Logo picture of books.

Home FRA Organization Publications Conference Membership

Projects  Children's Book Award Contests Awards & Grants


Titles for 2015-2016!

Award Procedures

Award Timeline

Resource Materials
(for present and past titles)

Implementation Ideas

Labels & Stickers

Past Award Winners

Recommend a Book

Vote on a Book







FRA Children’s Book Award titles for 2015-2016

Over 49,000 ballots from 36 Florida counties were cast and the 2014-2015 Children’s Book Award winner is Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein. Here is this year's list (Bookmark version). 


The Loch Mess Monster
by Helen Lester

resource materials
Two Little Birds
by Mary Mary Newell

resource materials

Tiny Rabbit's Big Wish
by Margarita Engle
resource materials
Ivan: The Remarkable
True Story of the
Shopping Mall Gorilla

by Katherine Applegate
resource materials

Tuesday Tucks Me In:
The Loyal Bond Between a Soldier and His Service Dog

by Luis Carlos Montalvan
resource materials
Sea Slime - It's Eeuwy, Gooey, and Under the Sea
by Ellen Prager
resource materials

A Boy and A Jaguar
by Alan Rabinowitz
resource materials
The Grudge Keeper
by Mara Rockliff
resource materials

Winning Titles for 2014-2015

Interrupting Chicken

Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein

No Pirates Allowed
No Pirates Allowed Said Library Lou
by Ronda Gowler Greene

The Black Rabit

The Black Rabbit

by Philippa Leathers





The Florida Reading Association invites Pre-Kindergarten through Second Grade students to participate in voting for the Florida Children's Book Award. Nominations for books to be considered for the school year are due by December 15. The books nominated must have been copyrighted within the last five years and be currently in print. A nomination form can be found under the Recommend a Book link.

Once students have read or heard the nominated books, their votes can be tallied and submitted to the Children's Book Award Chairman though the online form. Ballots must be received no later than April 15. Results will be announced on the FRA web site and in the FRA newsletter. The winning book will be honored at the FRA Conference in October.

 FRA Membership Application

For more information about FRA please contact:
Florida Reading Association at
FRA Membership
P.O. Box 151555
Cape Coral, FL 33915


Copyright 2004 - Florida Reading Association